Congratulations Graduates

Ph.D. Program in Biochemistry
Gloria Asantewaa
Brandon Davis Burris
Justin Galardi
Nicholas Macoretta
Jennifer Twardowski
Elinore VanGraafeiland

Ph.D. Program in Biophysics
Joseph Bucukovski
Abhinav Mittal
Ashlin Poruthoor

The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character—that is the goal of true education.

Martin Luther King, Jr., 1929-1968

Wolter S. Bloor Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biochemistry

Gloria Asantewaa and Justin Galardi

Marvel-Dare F. Nutting Award

In recognition of an outstanding graduate receiving a Ph.D. in Biochemistry

Gloria Asantewaa

George V. Metzger Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biophysics

Abhinay Mittal and Ashlin Poruthoor

Fred Sherman Award

Program in Biochemistry award to a student who exemplifies the imagination, the excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the commitment to the scientific community that were characteristic of Dr. Fred Sherman

Leon Harvey and MaryClaire Haseley

William F. Neuman Award

Program in Biophysics award for academic, scientific and personal qualities exemplifying the imagination, enthusiasm, and excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge which were characteristic of the life of Dr. Neuman

Nicholas Rugelis

William F. & Margaret W. Neuman Travel Award Christopher Kirchhoff

Student Seminar Award

Fall Semester - Lucas Simpson (BMB),

Emily Robinson (BSCB)

Spring Semester - Thomas Ossevoort (BMB),

Jack Stallone (BSCB)

Elon Huntington Hooker Fellowship

Awarded by the University to a student for graduate work related to Chemistry in memory of Elon Huntington Hooker, a graduate & trustee

Hannah Clary (BMB)

Student/Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Debojyoti Das – American Heart Association (AHA) postdoctoral fellowship

Sayeeda Zain Fall Travel Award Emily Robinson, Akshara Sharma, James Shaul, and Jack Stallone

Sayeeda Zain Spring Travel Award Mohammed Ali, Alissa Beam, Jeff Gabell, and MaryClaire Haseley

Faculty Teaching Award

Biochemistry Program – **Dr. Paul Boutz**Biophysics Program – **Dr. Mark Dumont**

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics Awards Ceremony & Reception



Thursday, May 15, 2025 10:30 am Neuman Room 1-6823