# Congratulations Graduates

Ph.D. Program in Biochemistry
Meemanage (Dudarshika) De Zoysa
Sierra Fox
Christopher Goodwin
Wan-Jung (Christine) Lai
Jiyu Wang
Hong Zhu



Ph.D. Program in Biophysics Debapratim (Dave) Dutta Letty Leslie Salas-Estrada

> "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." - Nelson Mandela

#### Walter S. Bloor Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biochemistry

Christopher Goodwin, Jiyu Wang

## Marvel-Dare F. Nutting Award

In recognition of an outstanding graduate receiving a Ph.D. in Biochemistry

Hong Zhu

# George V. Metzger Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biophysics

Leslie Salas-Estrada

#### Fred Sherman Award

Program in Biochemistry award to a student who exemplifies the imagination, the excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the commitment to the scientific community that were characteristic of Dr. Fred Sherman

Lisa Houston, Nazish Jeffery

#### William F. Neuman Award

Program in Biophysics award for academic, scientific and personal qualities exemplifying the imagination, enthusiasm and excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge which were characteristic of the life of Dr. Neuman

Dan Steiner

William F. & Margaret W. Neuman Travel Award Lauren Benoodt, Ashlin Poruthoor, Yoshita Srivastava

> Elena Gilde Grossfield Biophysics Trainee Presentation Award talk - Matt Brewer Poster - Gabrielle Kosoy

#### Student Seminar Award

Fall Semester - Lisa Houston (BMB), Chapin Cavender (BSCB), Louis Smith (BSCB)
Student Seminar Award

Spring Semester - Chen Bao (BMB), Shashank Chavali (BSCB)

# Elon Huntington Hooker Fellowship

Awarded by the University to a student for graduate work related to Chemistry in memory of Elon Huntington Hooker, a graduate & trustee

Winners to be announced at a later date

### Messersmith/Goodman Dissertation Fellowship

Awarded by the University for graduate work in the preclinical departments of the School of Medicine and Dentistry or for graduate work in Biology, Chemistry, or Physics

Winners to be announced at a later date

# Student/Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Shashank Chavali - American Crystallography Association Travel Award

> Sayeeda Zain Fall Travel Award Lisa Houston, Nazish Jeffery, Deb Maji Sayeeda Zain Spring Travel Award Chen Bao, Lauren Benoodt

## Faculty Teaching Award

Biochemistry Program - Dr. Josh Munger Biophysics Program - Dr. Alan Grossfield

Staff Recognition Award
Welissa Vera

Department of
Biochemistry & Biophysics
Awards Ceremony
& Reception



Friday, May 15, 2020 1:30 p.m. Via ZOOM

https://urmc.zoom.us/j/97518543084