

# Congratulations Graduates

Th.D. Program in Biochemistry

Bronwyn Lucas Matthew Payea



Th.D. Program in Biophysics

Kyle Berger Zhen Tan

#### Walter S. Bloor Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biochemistry

Matthew Payea

# Marvel-Dare F. Nutting Award

In recognition of an outstanding graduate receiving the Ph.D. in Biochemistry

Bronwyn Lucas

# George V. Metzger Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biophysics

Zhen Tan

#### Fred Sherman Award

Program in Biochemistry award to a student who exemplifies the imagination, the excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the commitment to the scientific community that were characteristic of Dr.

Fred Sherman

Sierra Fox, Christopher Goodwin

#### William F. Neuman Award

Program in Biophysics award for academic, scientific and personal qualities exemplifying the imagination, enthusiasm and excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge which were characteristic of the life of Dr. Neuman

Leslie Salas-Estrada

William F. Neuman Travel Award Shashank Chavali, Louis Smith

#### Student Seminar Award

Fall Semester – **Sierra Fox** (BMB), **Debapratim Dutta** (BSCB) Spring Semester – **Jessica Ciesla** (BMB), **Omar Hedaya** (BMB), **Chapin Cavender** (BSCB)

### Elon Huntington Hooker Fellowship

Awarded by the University to a student for graduate work related to Chemistry in memory of Elon Huntington Hooker, a graduate & trustee Viktoriya Anokhina (BMB), Thareendra De Zoysa (BMB), Ethan Walker (BMB)

# Goodman Dissertation Fellowship

Awarded by the University for graduate work in the preclinical departments of the School of Medicine and Dentistry or for graduate work in Biology, Chemistry, or Physics

Louis Smith (BSCB)

Student/Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Diana Dunn - American Cancer Society post-doctoral fellowship

Student/Postdoctoral Teaching Recognition Feng Jiang – PBL Certificate

Sayeeda Zain Fall Travel Award Shashank Chavali, Tyler Couch, Dudarshika De Zoysa, Fanfan Hao

> Sayeeda Zain Spring Travel Award Viktoriya Anokhina, Chapin Cavender, Irene Rodriguez-Sanchez, Xavier Rambout

Faculty Teaching Award
Biochemistry Program – Dr. Dmitri Ermolenko

Biophysics Program - Dr. Joseph Wedekind

Biochemistry Junior Faculty Mentoring Award
Dr. Eric Phizicky

Staff Recognition Award
Katie Inclima

Special Recognition For Outstanding Service
Melissa Vera

# Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics Awards Ceremony & Reception



Friday, May 17, 2019 1:30 p.m. Neuman Room (1-6823)