

Congratulations Graduates

Ph.D. Program in Biochemistry

Christina Brule
Amber Cutter
Lu Han
Clarence Ling
Jerry Madukwe
Michael Sloma
Charles Owen Smith

Ph.D. Program in Biophysics

Karl J.P. Smith

Walter S. Bloor Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biochemistry

Christina Brule

Lu Han

Marvel-Dare F. Nutting Award

In recognition of an outstanding graduate receiving the Ph.D. in Biochemistry

Amber Cutter

George V. Metzger Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biophysics

Karl J.P. Smith

Fred Sherman Award

Program in Biochemistry award to a student who exemplifies the imagination, the excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the commitment to the scientific community that were characteristic of Dr. Fred Sherman

Bronwyn Lucas

William F. Neuman Award

Program in Biophysics award for academic, scientific and personal qualities exemplifying the imagination, enthusiasm and excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge which were characteristic of the life of Dr. Neuman Chapin Cavender

William F. Neuman Travel Award

Louis Smith

Zhen Tan

Elena Gilde Grossfield Biophysics Trainee
Presentation Award

talk – Sreyoshi Sur

poster – Lauren Benoodt

Student Seminar Award

Fall Semester - Bronwyn Lucas (BMB), Leslie Salas-Estrada (BSCB) Spring Semester - Viktoriya Anokhina (BMB), Daniel Steiner (BSCB)

Elon Huntington Hooker Fellowship

Awarded by the University to a student for graduate work related to Chemistry in memory of Elon Huntington Hooker, a graduate and trustee **Dudarshika De Zoysa** (BMB), **Christine Lai** (BMB)

Goodman Dissertation Fellowship

Awarded by the University for graduate work in the preclinical departments of the School of Medicine and Dentistry or for graduate work in Biology, Chemistry, or Physics

Leslie Salas-Estrada (BSCB)

Student/Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Dave Dutta – RNA Society Travel Award
Tatsuaki Kurosaki – Grant to study spinocerebellar ataxia
Xavier Rambout – American Heart Association post-doctoral fellowship
Irene Rodriquez-Sanchez – American Heart Association fellowship

Student/Postdoctoral Teaching Recognition
Nick Macoretta, Morgan Monaghan – PBL Certificates
Chapin Cavender – TA recognition

Faculty Teaching Award

Biochemistry Program – Mark Dumont

Biophysics Program – Alan Grossfield

Staff Recognition Award
LaSarah Reynolds

Sayeeda Zain Travel Award Christine Lai, Lingfeng Luo, Louis Smith

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics Awards Ceremony & Reception

"Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail" - Ralph Emerson

Friday, May 18, 2018 1:30 p.m. Neuman Room (1-6823)